LM250 black line + 2 Mark Bass NewYork 121

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CamiloVasquez, Oct 14, 2021 at 12:28 PM.

1. CamiloVasquez

CamiloVasquez

Thursday
    Hi guys, any experience with that set up? I'm a newbie in regards to amps and cabinets, specially when it comes to ohms and what fries a cabinet. Two main questions: Is that combination electronically possible? and What kind of sound quality/power can I hope?

Thanks, greetins from Chile

2. musicman556

musicman556 Gold Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2019
    Smyrna, TN
    Yep, they will work together just fine.

If you find you end up wanting more volume, the head is the weakest link in that trio and will probably be your first upgrade. However, 250w is nothing to sneeze at and you'll be getting full power from the amp running those two 8ohm 112 cabs. I had the LM250 for awhile and it was a perfectly good amp with some cool tone controls. The VLE and VPF are powerful and you can really get some vastly different sounds quickly and easily with those two knobs, then fine-tune with the eq.

The only thing the amp DIDN'T do well, in my opinion, is overdrive/grit. It just went straight to harsh clipping without any middle ground of warm breakup. If you have a pedal or something for those tones though, you're golden!

SJan3 and CallMeAl like this.
  3. CamiloVasquez

CamiloVasquez

Thursday
    I have an Aguilar Agro that I use for situations that require drive, so I'm golden. Thank you so much for the reply!

musicman556 likes this.
  4. CallMeAl

CallMeAl

Dec 2, 2016
    Ithaca Ny
    I have the LMIII with a CMD 12 (essentially a ny 121) and the NY 121 extension. I love the tone, cuts easily through any band mix. I use a fraction of the volume, usually 9:00 for a fairly loud blues band. And often only one speaker.