1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Local Blues Jam

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by petersenbass, Sep 16, 2008.

1. My goodness....I hate to complain...but I don't hate it that much...

I live in Nashville. I like to think I'm a skilled bassist. I pay my bills with gig earnings.

I appreciate open blues jams as forums for novice to advanced players to have a good time and network without worrying about the "business" of it all.

I have visited a couple local blues jams on the outskirts of Nashville (Hermitage and Lebanon). They both have something in common. If you're not in their regular "circle" of loyal followers, then you're low priority. Advanced or beginner/

The host gets up there with the normal guys, so he can sound good. He may have one or two guys come up if they're lucky, while he's up there. Then, setbreak.... let's send 5 random guys up there with no direction. Twice, I've had (different) two guys that couldn't communicate. (one had half his teeth)

Now don't we all know blues is about simple communication.

I guess it's my own fault for going back. I don't think I'm the greatest. I'm lucky to pay (barely) my bills with music. But, local jams in a "Music City" should encourage not discourage players. It's just...one of these jams is right down the road.

Anyone with something similair? I'm not trying to be a dick...
    Someone buys a bar or music store, and they use a "open" jam as their own ego stroker.

2. CapnSev

CapnSev

Aug 19, 2006
    Coeur d'Alene
    Yup. Especially true for a bassist.

You might get two songs if you're lucky, then the regular bassist is back up.

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Set up your own jam and invite people..? :eyebrow:

4. Fretless1!

Fretless1!

Feb 19, 2007