1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Locationally challenged noob looking for a fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fluffster, Jun 7, 2007.

1. Fluffster

Fluffster

Jun 7, 2007
    Hi! I'm an arctic newbie looking for a bit of advice, or reassurance ;)

I've been playing bass at my church and elsewhere for 14 years and am developing an itch I'll have to scratch soon: I'd really like to go fretless. Problem is, I've found exactly two fretless basses for sale here in Iceland, neither of which interests me, one rather nice acoustic and then a cheap, unsexy 5 stringer at the local rip-off shop. My current (only) bass is a bartolini'd Bass Collection 4-stringer I bought from the local YMCA for $100, shown here being put through its paces by my daughter :)

I'm starting to lean towards grabbing a warwick corvette off ebay, they seem to go for $700-ish there. I love the warwick sound and the sound of a fretless, but I've never heard a sound sample from a fretless corvette. Does anybody here have some experience with these beasts? I'm guessing that a bubinga corvette has a similar weight as a bubinga thumb. I've tried a few of those and am impressed. According to the datasheet, the corvette neck has very similar dimensions to my bass. Flying overseas to try before buying is unfortunately a complete non-starter.

I have been playing the cello for 23 years so I'm familiar with the unforgiving learning curve of fretless instruments and have a trained ear.

2. BenderR

BenderR

Jun 1, 2004
    Tucson, AZ
    I had a Corvette Std fretless and just ordered another one from Warwick's custom shop. The sound is fairly complex with good sustain. I found that it worked well for the jazz-related material where I wanted to take solos and do glissandos.