Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Long post, but I'm having a problem, please help.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by CaptainHueso, Jan 27, 2006.

1. Alright, this may get long, but here it is. I've been playing the bass for a little over 4 years, and have been playing in only one band during that time. The frontman plays rhythm guitar and sings lead, as well as writes 99.9% of the material we perform. I love his writing and can't imagine separating from the music he writes. When we started the band it was he and I, and a drummer friend of ours from high school. Over the course of a few years we worked up around 25 to 30 performable original songs, and probably 5 to 10 good covers that we like (we usually only do 1 or 2 per show). We ended up hiring a lead guitar player, and over 2 years the position has changed people 3 times, and the current guy has been with us the longest, at a year and 3 months. Well, our drummer recently moved away to another city which is 2 hours away, and our lead guitar player is in rehab right now (long story, he's not even a substance abuser, just a little crazy). The frontman and I didn't like either of these things, because we've been playing with these guys for so long, that we perform and write music like clockwork. We all know exactly what we all want to hear on each part, and for the most part things have been moving seamlessly and beautifully.

I always heard stories about people having trouble working with band members and practices and gigs always being a chore, but that was rarely ever the case with us, but now things have suddenly changed after 4 years of greatness. Our drummer has no vehicle and is too busy with school, partying, and his girlfriend to make any effort to come practice or even play shows. He's already turned town 4 or 5 gigs since he's been gone at the beginning of this month!