1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Long: Problems finding "my sound" in a bass rig - suggestions much needed...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by AlexanderB, Apr 10, 2010.

1. AlexanderB

AlexanderB

Feb 25, 2007
    Sweden
    Warning. Long text... Additional style and bass info at the end.

I have problems finding a rig that provides the bass tone I hear in my head. (And that I hear on recordings both of my bass and on certain records.)

I am looking for a loud rig with extended, ballsy lows and very clear mids and top range. Having tried some different setups since I started playing bass in 1996, I still have not found it.

The main culprits are bass speaker distorsion and the midrange honkiness/harshness, especially when volume goes up?

I have designed, built and played "Hifi" rigs similar to the Fearful (etc) concept (PA box 15", 6", 1" and 15", 10", 1") more than a decade before that was "discovered" by the people here. Even with such a rig, I still had to apply lots of EQ to get the sound I like (which was OK). Not enough volume was the problem.
    My current "big" rig is an EBS 311 (15", 10", 2") + an EBS 15F (15") powered by a QSC 3602. (The 15" speaker replaced by 3015LF.) The preamp is an EBS 1V2 and I use a Behringer DCX 2496 processor for eq, cross over etc. This rig is loud enough, barely.
    With some pretty big corrections in the processor I get an OK frequency response, but the EBS / Eminence driver distorsion (mainly in the 500 - 1500Hz range) still disturbs me. I had hoped the final result to be better.)