1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Long-Time Bassist Starting to Get Gigs as a Soundman -- Tips Anyone?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by jaywa, Oct 14, 2013.

1. jaywa

jaywa

May 5, 2008
    Iowa City, IA
    I have been playing bass for about 32 years and have been gigging heavily with multiple bands the last 10 yrs in particular but now some opportunities are presenting themselves to run sound for a band I used to play bass for on a sub basis. I mixed my first show for them a few weekends ago and they have since asked me to put two more of their shows on my calendar to work as well.

Keep in mind, I literally had never run live sound for a band EVER before this gig a few weekends ago (although I do have experience behind the board in studio settings). This band is pretty well known and has some good musicians in it so I feel rather honored.

I would be interested in hearing from other bassists who work "both sides of the desk"... not really so much on how to get a good mix (I think I've got that part pretty well down), but just other things you have learned from running sound that I might not have a handle on being so new at this.

Thanks in Advance

2. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass

May 10, 2006
    Maybe it would be useful to re-read all the "I hate my soundman" threads and do the opposite?

3. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I Grow Organic Carrots
    Long-Time Bassist Starting to Get Gigs as a Soundman -- Tips Anyone?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It is always grat to find a soundman who:

1 - actually cares how a band sounds
    2 - knows what he is doing
    3 - does not spend the night getting drunk

4. jaywa

jaywa

May 5, 2008
    Iowa City, IA
    Already did. Heck, I even had posted in some of them. :D