1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Long Time Guitar Player, First time Bassist

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Revelation22_5, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Revelation22_5

Revelation22_5

Mar 19, 2013
    So as the title says... I have played guitar for about 20 years with the majority of it being a bedroom guitarist. I recently took on the role of bass player for a Christian Rock group. Being a bedroom guitarist I haven't played with enough bass players to know about bass gear. At the moment I am using the bass rig at a local church where we practice. We have a show coming up in middle of May and I would love to have my own rig by then.

I am needing suggestions on a 5 string Bass Guitar, Amp, and any effects I may need.

I would like to keep my cost of my starting rig around 1500 or so for the entire rig. It doesn't matter if the items are new or used.

Also any tips on bass playing in general? Since I am new to bass I really don't have a style.. Right now I just use a pick and play it like I would a guitar.

The band will be playing mostly larger churches and some outdoors shows. Our music is somewhere between Skillet, and casting crowns....

For a bass...I am a big Fender guitar fan and think their basses would be of the same quality. however I am not opposed to other bands. wanting a 5 string

For a amp, Whats a good size to use? Whats the pros and cons of different cab configurations (4x10, 2x15 ect)

For effects a band member suggested a sansamp driver is this a must have item? Are there any must have effects? I have quite a few guitar effects pedals (ODs, Choruses, Delays, flangers, Tremolos) can they all be used with a bass?