Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Lonnie Plaxico is a supporting member?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Flatwound, Jan 4, 2002.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    That is soooooo cool! He was recently featured in Bass Player Mag. I always think it's great when pros drop in here from time to time, but for Lonnie to step up and say, "Hey, I want to support this website," is really terrific.

I'm no pro, but I guess it's time for me to step up, too. I'll let Lonnie's picture stay there for a while, but you'll see that "supporting member" thingy under my name soon.

2. Apparently he thinks it's cool enough to contribute twice (?). I've seen his picture up there a couple of times - but I'm not complaining. He's a great player and a very positive addition to the board!

BTW - he's pretty damn awesome on Cassandra Wilson's Traveling Miles. "Seven Steps to Heaven" just kills me every time. And Marcus Baylor's drumming is fantastic! Apparently good enough to land him the Yellowjackets gig!

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Yes - but shouldn't this really be in the Double Bass part of the board rather than Bass Guitar?

4. I was going to say something also, but I was kinda scared!

Very, very cool ... We should let his pic stay up there a bit longer though ...

Art Blakey? Greatest drummer ever! DANG!

5. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Plaxico!
    ...any of these M-BASE musicians are "OK" with me! ;)

Personally(& this should be obvious by now), I could care less if it's DB or BG...listening to Anatomy Of A Groove or Robin Eubanks' 'solo' stuff(Mental Images or Get 2 It) or "Squib Cakes" from Melange...it's really irrelevant, IMO, whether it's an upright or a 'gadget' bass. It's all happenin'('good')! ;)

6. Brad Johnson