Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for a book...but nothing too elementary..

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Abemas, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Abemas

Abemas

Dec 15, 2005
    I was wondering if you guys could recommend a general instructional book for bass that skips all the basic music theory (for example: this is a whole note....now lets learn 4/4 time...this is what a repeat does.) I'm a long time musician so I really don't need all the theory review, but most of what I've looked at in the stores seems to be about half theory and half technique instruction. I realize that most starter type books are going to have some of this but can any of you recommend anything that isn't full of theory basics?

Thanks!

2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Try Mike Dimin's CORE method. I just got my copy... you can find more info here and at his forum

3. Joe Turski

Joe Turski

Jul 29, 2003
    Connecticut
    m
    I'll second Mike's "CORE" method. I have a copy and it's very easy to use.

4. Commreman

Commreman Faith, Family, Fitness, and Frets Supporting Member

Feb 12, 2005
    New Jersey
    The Improvisers Bass Method by Chuck Sher. This one is very good.

5. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Although Chuck's book is pretty good - it still, as most every other bass method does, teach a bottom's up way of playing. Where the root of the chord/mode/scale is always on the bottom and everything goes up from there. Those methods, which go all the way back to Mel Bay 1, unfortunately teach us a style of playing that creates an "intermediate plateau". A place where further development is hindered because of a myopic mindset. Because we always are thinking Bottom's Up!