1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a budget 5 string...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BoyaFromNagoya, Dec 19, 2011.

1. BoyaFromNagoya

BoyaFromNagoya

Aug 26, 2008
    Istanbul
    I've been playing 4 string jazz basses ever since I started playing. JB's are now a part of me... Whenever I pick another type of bass, I miss the comfort of a 4 string JB.

Now I'm filling a friends space in a hard rock band. It's not what I've been used to, as in my older bands I played jazz and funk... The problem is; a lot of their own songs recorded with the use of a 5 strings. So I'm on a market for one. But there is no way I can buy another Fender JB in 5 strings, considering the price.

Yamaha BB 415 looks like a good option but really need some advice... Anyone?

2. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    You might check out BaCH, made in the Czech Republic. I have one of their P-type 5-strings and can testify that it's quite well made, with good woods and adequate hardware. The price is low compared to the quality. The BJB Jaybird is their Jazz copy, also available as a fiver:

MODEL BACH BJB - B&CH Music

3. TRichardsbass

TRichardsbass Banned Commercial User

Jun 3, 2009
    Between Muscle Shoals and Nashville
    Bassgearu, Music Industry Consulting and Sales. Tech 21, NBE Corp, Sonosphere.
    Check out the Brubaker Brute Club thread here.

4. IngerAlb

IngerAlb

May 11, 2007
    Just string your Jazz BEAD (fill the nut a bit if necessary - it's way cheaper to replace it later on than buying a 5er) If it's hard rock, I doubt you'll need the G string that much anyway ;)

5. phillybass101

phillybass101

Jan 12, 2011
    Artist, Trickfish Amplification Bartolini Emerging Artist, MTD Kingston Emerging Artist. Artist, Tsunami Cables