1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for a decent 5-string recording bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sear, Mar 29, 2013.

1. sear

sear

Mar 29, 2013
    I fully admit that I am not much of a bass player; rather I'm a guitarist who just wants a good-sounding bass for laying down bass tracks and having fun with. While I use a pretty okay Warwick Rockbass which sounds okay, the tone is not doing much for me (really unexciting midrange, good clarity but not much else). I'm looking into getting a cost-effective 5-string with a bit of a beefier tone to it - not too trebly or bright, but not exceptionally growly or grindy in the mids either. I primarily play various forms of metal, but versatility is still somewhat important.

Really, the bass does not need to be incredible, just good enough for the recording and other messing around I do. In the past I have learned you can go fairly cheap with a bass and get a lot more for your money than you can in the guitar world, so I have no problems picking up cheaper gear considering I'm not going to be using it for too much anyway. It's worth noting that I have small-ish hands compared to some so I am not the biggest fan of baseball bat necks (but don't require super-thin by any means).

Right now the choices leading the pack are:

- Ibanez SR505 (pros: everyone says it's great, very easy to play neck, cons: price is a bit high)

- Yamaha RBX375 (pros: supposedly excellent build quality and pickups for the money, cons: possibly too thick a neck for my tastes)

- LTD B-205SM (pros: looks great, playable, cons: thicker neck, pickups?)

Does anyone have any thoughts on these models or any others that fit into the price range? Better yet, has anyone been in a position to compare them?

2. tfernandez

tfernandez Supporting Member