Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

looking for a diverse bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flury, May 21, 2004.

1. flury

flury

May 21, 2004
    Well as my Ibanez SR300dx slowly dies I started playing some (actually alot, was at the music store for a good 3 hours for a whole week :cool: ) basses and narrowed what I wanted down to...
    American or MIJ Fender Jazz
    or
    Warwick RockBass Corvette Classic
    The choice is so hard, help!

All the guy told me the American Jazz's run for $550. I think he meant the MIJ's but Im not sure, are they really that cheap?

2. If you can get a nice playing American Jazz for 550, get it! Even for a Japanese one, if it plays good, that's a great price. I think passive Jazz basses such as those aren't the most versatile basses in the world, but I can't see you needing much more than what's offered - I have an American Deluxe with active electronics and I rarely play with the pots, just a treble cut now and then (which is what the tone knob does on a regular Jazz anyways!) and a bit of pickup blending, which you can also access on a regular Jazz. Long story short, I think a Jazz is all you really need if you want to get right down to it.

By diverse, I assume an active bass would fit the bill. However, at that price range, not too many active basses would be a good choice, unless it's a used higher end bass. Active electronics and a low price usually don't mix well. It just adds more components that are potentially of a lower quality, killing your tone.

I don't know if the Rockbass is passive because I played one a long time ago, but it's a solid bass with more traditional body woods and whatever. It doesn't nail that growly Warwick tone without the exotic woods, but it's well-built and sounds pretty good. I'm a Jazz fan, myself, so that's my choice. But the Warwick is definitely a good bass.

3. flury

flury