Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

looking for a good beginner's bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stech, Sep 14, 2003.

1. stech

stech

Sep 13, 2003
    I am relatively new to bass, and i've been looking at many different kinds. Ive heard tons of good things about 'essex' basses, but i would like some real players input on it. ive been looking at the 'short scale' model, and the price is very appealing to me (99). are there better basses for me? i plan on upgrading later in teh future, but again, i dont have the cash to buy a nicer one now.

2. BoiNtC

BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
  3. temp5897

temp5897 Guest

I personally recommend you get the best bass you can. I'm not sure what that would be for you since there is a wide price range out there, but having a great instrument can really be an inspiration to pick up and play. It makes a difference.

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    MIM Fender Jazz if you want a better resale value than an Essex ,, for when you get a new bass.

5. stech

stech

Sep 13, 2003
    ok. thanks a lot, so i think the general opinion is that a MIM fender would be better. but, what is a 'short scale' bass? does it play the same as a regular bass, and the neck is just shorter?

6. Brian Barrett

Brian Barrett

Nov 25, 2001
    Murfreesboro, TN (Nashville)
    Dealer LowEndBassShop.com, Builder LowEndBasses.com
    I actually think Ibanez makes a good starter bass. The new Peavey passive that was in bassplayer a month or so ago looked to be a nice starter bass as well.

I think ibanez's for beginner basses are nice. You can get them with active electronics for flexibility and 24 fret. There are some Ibanez models that I wouldn't suggest as well.

Check out the Peavey stuff too.

7. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA