1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a guitar amp.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jiant., Sep 28, 2008.

1. jiant.

jiant.

Jul 3, 2004
    Fort Mill, SC
    Here is my situation: I've had this '78 Ibanez Artist that my uncle left me when he passed away for a couple years and I just now got around to getting it fixed. It should be out of the shop in about a week, but I don't have an amp to play it through. I'm looking for a combo, preferably something tube driven, either 1x12 or 2x12. Right now this will just be for playing around the house, but I'd like to get something that could handle small-medium shows down the road. My budget is probably somewhere around $650 or less and I'm all about used gear. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated as I'm pretty new to guitar gear. Thanks. -Brad

2. Style?

On a budget, and looking for a tube amp, I'd say Peavey or Traynor (used is probably better in this situation)

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Peavey Classic 30 is THE quintessential amp for me.

4. Linas

Linas

Jan 6, 2005
    Chicago
    Peavey classic 30 for sure....

5. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Vox AC15.

6. bwv1013

bwv1013

Mar 20, 2008
    southern cal
    the fender hot rod combo amps are tube driven and start around your price range brand new. awesome clean and tube overdrive sound.

7. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Had a DeVille 410 for a while. Not a bad amp, if not a bit heavy. I got an AC30 that I like more, though. (Not in the budget, though)

8. ^ the classic 30 is supposed to be basically an AC30 copy, isn't it? I thought I read that somewhere...

9. Peavey Classic 30 is a nice one, tho I did sell mine on for an older all tube TE head.

10. GeneralElectric

GeneralElectric

Dec 26, 2007
    NY, NY
    Fender Blues Junior?