1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a guitar amp.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jiant., Sep 28, 2008.

1. jiant.

jiant.

Jul 3, 2004
    Fort Mill, SC
    Here is my situation: I've had this '78 Ibanez Artist that my uncle left me when he passed away for a couple years and I just now got around to getting it fixed. It should be out of the shop in about a week, but I don't have an amp to play it through. I'm looking for a combo, preferably something tube driven, either 1x12 or 2x12. Right now this will just be for playing around the house, but I'd like to get something that could handle small-medium shows down the road. My budget is probably somewhere around $650 or less and I'm all about used gear. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated as I'm pretty new to guitar gear. Thanks. -Brad

2. Deacon_Blues

Deacon_Blues

Feb 11, 2007
    Finland
    What style of music are you into?

Anyway, my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe (all-tube) have never let me down in any other ways than the light bulb, indicating the amp is on, have blown a few times. The amp has a nice warm and "very 3-dimensional" clean sound, and it gets plenty loud. The distortion however isn't very versatile so it might be wise to add a distortion pedal, e.g. a tubescreamer.

One of these should suit your budget as well, especially if you find a used one. They're pretty common so it's not difficult to find them.

3. SoComSurfing

SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

Feb 15, 2002
    Mobile, Al