Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for a Hi-Fi Rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SharkB8, Jul 15, 2002.

1. SharkB8

SharkB8

May 29, 2002
    NorCal
    Hello all....I've been lurking for a while, and just decided to post. I've been playing many instruments for about 20 years (mostly fusion/jazz guitar, but have fallen in love with the bass, and find most of the calls I get are for bass now)....

I'm starting to look for a Hi-Fi sounding rig and would like your opinions. At home (and for a small monitor going to the PA) I play a SWR WM 12. Sounds good (at low volumes). I've played a lot through a super red head 2x10 combo, again, decent sound (just seems to be missing something). I've also played various other SWR gear (which is mostly what's available around me).

I play a cirrus 5 (maple/alder), which is a good bass with a lot of tonal possibilities (thinking of upgrading to a Hanewinckel 6). I just haven't been floored by any of the sounds through amps. I get a good sound straight DI into a PA, but would like something to handle the other gigs (I play quite a bit, ~20 gigs/mo) and have use for some better stuff. My original thoughts are a preamp/poweramp setup with 2x10/1x15 cabs. Also, could anyone recommend good bass stores in Northern California (I'm willing to make the long drive to SF, if need be)???

Thanks!!!!

2. boogiebass

boogiebass

Aug 16, 2000
    Good idea re: the Hanewinckel 6, a definite step up. Get this rig (i.e. Euphonic Audio iamp 600 and Bergantino HT112 & HT210) and you'll not only have a fine hi-fi rig for just about any room short of an auditorium but you'll have excellent portability, too.

[​IMG]

3. Golem II

Golem II

Jan 4, 2002
    Macon, GA, USA