Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for a light bass around $600

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by basskid, Jan 7, 2002.

1. basskid

basskid

May 2, 2001
    Oak Park, IL
    :rolleyes: Well, i've been playing for a couple years, and just starting to get good. Last year, i got myself a fender standard jazz in brown sunburst, it's great all except that it's a little too heavy. I'm looking with something with a little more quality, and light. Weight is very important, i perform alot, long shows too, and i can't have a heavy bass weighing me down. Plus, i'm only 15, not alot of money to deal with here, so preferably around $600. Btw, i play through a carvin halfstack, 600w, very punchy and warm, just so you know. Thanks in advance! :)

2. Hey Basskid, what's up? A light bass, huh? All I can come up with right now would be any of the lower priced Yamahas. Go to www.musiciansfriend.com and check out the BBG4s and BBN4 basses. I have a BB5N II and while not very light, it's a bit lighter than my MIM jazz. You can also check out the Ibanez line, but, just looking for a light bass may not get you the sound that you want. What kind of sound do you want?

Mike J.

3. MTD Kingston/Heir siblings. Light, good tone, well made. 'Nuff said.

4. superphat

superphat

Sep 30, 2001
    dude, the mtd kingston is the BEST bass (in terms of quality control, workmanship and electronics) you can get for under $1000. except maybe the Lakland skyline.
    Others may have different opinions :)

oh yeah, it's also one of the lightest basses out there.

5. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Agree with the MTD Kingston/Heir recommendations. Great basses, as good as some that cost twice the price, and very light weight as well.

6. basskid

basskid

May 2, 2001
    Oak Park, IL