Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for a lightweight starter bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by WhiteRyder, Sep 27, 2005.

1. WhiteRyder

WhiteRyder

Jul 25, 2005
    Richmond VA
    Hi guys, hope this thread hasn't been done to death already (but I did a few searches and didn't find anything).

I'm a beginner bassist, and I started out by buying a Crate Tour Pak (bass, bag, 10W amp, strap, cable, tuner, etc.). The bass is okay but it's really heavy and I have trouble keeping it balanced. Buying a padded suede strap helped a lot, but it is still a distracting problem.

I'm thinking about getting a short scale bass, and I was wondering if the short scale SXs (e.g. the SPB-57 which has gotten some good reviews here on TB) are significantly lighter than the standard size models? Or are they just shorter, but nearly the same weight? The price is certainly in the right ballpark. :)

Thanks,
    WhiteRyder

2. mksolid

mksolid

Jan 4, 2005
    Brooklyn
    hamer slammer?

3. I got an Aria Pro II of ebay for pennies recently (older model, magna series), just as a banger bass, it sounds half decent tho, and is really light, diistractingly light i find tho . .

4. chasfr

chasfr

Jan 4, 2005
    Rondo's site indicates that the short scale Jazz (my baby), at 8.5 pounds, is a half pound lighter than the regular Jazz (SJB-62, 9 pounds). Sounds about right; 4 inches of neck oughta weight about a half pound. Just buy it; you'll love it. If you don't, Kurt at Rondo has a great rep for customer service, and you can return it.

Good luck!
    Chas

5. DaBassman

DaBassman

Mar 25, 2002
    Oneonta, NY
    Look for a used MTD Kingston :)

6. WhiteRyder

WhiteRyder

Jul 25, 2005
    Richmond VA