1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a little advice...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lpittman, Mar 4, 2013.

1. lpittman

lpittman

Mar 4, 2013
    What's up everyone. Have been reading through the threads here for some time and thought I'd finally make a post.

I've been a drummer for 20 years, so have plenty of experience on stage, but recently took up Bass and got a gig playing with a local blues guy. I picked up a Fender Pre and rented a Genz Benz Shuttle 9.2 and the NX2-212T cab just go get me started before I make the big purchase.

I've been fairly happy with the combo, but not totally sold. Feels like I'm missing something, but can't really put my finger on it. So far I've only played it in my jam room, so that may be it. I get the opportunity to play a club this weekend with it, which will hopefully push me in one direction or another.

My original "dream" setup was the Shuttle 9.2 with a Uber 410 + 115 stack - but I suspect that might be overkill.

I have kind of rambled on here and I apologize. I am looking for some advice/suggestions on what kind of equipment to pursue. I will be playing a variety of different sizes of venues, including some larger ones, so I will need something with some jam to it, but also need a nice rich, old-school tone.

A local store is bringing in a GB410T-XB2 (discontinued GB cab) for me to try out. Any experience with it?

Cheers!

Luke

2. Nothing wrong with that GB gear.
    Get 2 410 cabs rather than mixing speaker sizes tho. Guaranteed good results then.
    That amp can be moulded & eq'd to get pretty much any sound, very versatile.

3. lpittman

lpittman

Mar 4, 2013