looking for a second bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by buzzbomb, Mar 28, 2005.

1. buzzbomb

Aug 3, 2004
    i've been playing for about 2 years and my squier p-bass is starting to fall apart. I'm looking for a bass in the $500-600 range, and i play mostly ska, punk, rock and a little bit of jazz.
    Any suggestions would be appreciated.
  2. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Ernie Ball SUB is good for all of these genres, good solid bass for $700 new, can grab them used in your price range.
  3. Simball

Mar 26, 2005
    Portland, Oregon
    Are you thinking new or used? For a new bass check out the Fender Geddy Lee jazz bass. They run about $700. The SUB's seem pretty solid but I'd rather have a thrashed stingray. Used I'd look for an 80's model Spector NS2A in decent shape then drop some EMG pickups in it. Seems like you could get a used G&L in that price range as well.
  4. ErikP.Bass

ErikP.Bass Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2004
    I would second Simball for the used G&L - you probably can find one in your price range. If you wanted a new bass, I would look into a G&L Tribute. The tone controls are intimidating at first but don't let it scare you away, it makes for a very versatile instrument.
  5. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    What is "falling apart" on your bass? Just curious..
  6. LowFreakuency

Feb 1, 2005
    I've got a Dean European Improv 4 bass Mint cond. for sale.

Improv's are some of the best basses dean has ever produced.The Improv's were made for DEAN at the same manufacturing plant in Europe that European SPECTOR models were being produced.

The Dean Improv's have the same pickups and electronics as the Spectors (EMG CS Active pu's & EMG onboard preamp w/ Vol, Blend, Bass cut/boost, & Treble cut/boost) - The same tuners (High Quality Schaller Tuners) & the same body-wood configuration Alder w/Figured Maple top.