1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a small amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by patreimer, May 21, 2011.

1. patreimer

patreimer

May 21, 2011
    I'm looking for a small, powerful amp under $1000 that has good tone to it. I have a gig coming up and I need to be able to be heard by 125 people outdoors. I've been playing the bass for about 15 years but I'm not a big gearhead and don't know much about equipment--- unfortunately now I need some bigtime help. My dad has an old Acoustic 360 that I love, I know I'm not going to find one, but is there anything anyone knows of that would be similar? Comments? Suggestions? Help!??! Any help would be much appreciated.

2. depending on your timeline, I'd look at used and go for a Gallien Krueger 800RB (about 350 used) or even a 700RB (500+/- used). Reliable solid gear that are classics, and for a good reason.

A number of different ways to go w/the cabs depending on what's available in your area and what you like. I'd say get the head first then audition various cabinets, lots of good choices out there, just depends on what sounds good to you. But if you've 500 to 800 leftover after the amp you've got a lot of room to manuever, good luck and have fun with the process :)

3. What kind of cabinet are you going to use? I'm just curious of you ohm requirement...

4. btw, you're going to need a lot of "meat" for outdoors, very efficient 4-10 (or 2 2-10s), or 6/8-10s, 2-12s, 2-15s etc are what you should be looking at, not 2-10s, 1-12 or 1-15 unless you've got PA support. Impedance requirements as was posted above matter if you're going to get all the juice out of your amp.

5. ....and you're going to want to get every watt out of your amp so look to a total of 4 ohms as that's about as low as most solid state amps can take.