Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for a solid 4 string (or 5) in $250 range

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LoFrequency519, Jan 5, 2006.

1. LoFrequency519

LoFrequency519 Guest

Jan 5, 2006
    Burlington, VT
    I'm just starting to seriously pick up bass. I've been playing on my friends axes for about a year now and I want to get my own gear and start getting more serious about it. I have 8 years of experience with drums and percussion and I can already read music, and bass clef. I'm looking for a bass in the $250 range that will be solid and reliable. I know I won't be able to get the best stuff around for $250 but if you guys could recommend some to me, that would be great. I'm looking at a lot of used basses so that I might be able to get something a bit nicer but for a good price. The Ibanez EDB series has caught my eye but I'm open to suggestions. Thanks! :bassist:

2. klocwerk

klocwerk

May 19, 2005
    Somerville, MA
    I got my MIM fender jazz (fretless) for $200 off e-bay, they go for that often. They can sometimes be hit or miss (good 'ole fender quality control), but they're pretty much guaranteed to be a solid bass. I love mine to death.

Or, for $250, you could get 2 SX's and have a backup.
    rondo music

3. LoFrequency519

LoFrequency519 Guest

Jan 5, 2006
    Burlington, VT
    I'm assuming MIM is "made in Mexico." I've like some of the Fender Jazz basses I've played but other than that, I'm not really digging the Fenders.

4. klocwerk

klocwerk

May 19, 2005
    Somerville, MA
    Fair enough. I haven't liked most of them myself, but I'm very happy with mine. :D

When I was looking in this price range, people kept throwing "yahama" at me, so that's something you might want to consider.