1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for advice on Bass Distortion

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by allintime, Apr 10, 2018.

1. allintime

allintime

Apr 10, 2018
    Virginia
    Hi, first post here. I'm relatively new to playing bass seriously after messing around for 8 years. I've joined a cover band playing 90s rock, and I could use some help getting a solid distortion sound. Some of the songs we're playing have bass distortion (I think), and I want to get close to the tone on the recordings. The songs are Desperately Wanting (Better than Ezra), All Over You (Live), and Lump (The Presidents of USA).

I grabbed a used Bass Big Muff Nano from the local GC, but was disappointed. The sound lost a lot of low end and it was difficult to find a good balance between level and gain. It just sounds too fuzzy, and not like the deep distorted bass sound of the songs I mentioned. Specific questions I have are:
    Do you have any tips for dialing in the big muff to get the tone I'm after?
    Is this the right type of pedal I should be using?
    Is there other pedals that I should replace it with or add to the chain?

My gear: Brand new Cort B4 Plus MH (sounds awesome!), an old Gallien-Krueger Backline 210 Combo Amp. Pedal chain: korg pitch black tuner > Bass Big Muff Nano > Behringer BLE400 limiter enhancer > amp. I also have a boss BD-2 I can throw in, but it doesn't help the low end at all. Maybe I can do more with that? Thanks!

2. symbolic_acts

symbolic_acts

May 24, 2004
    i just think you want an overdrive pedal, not a fuzz.

go to the guitar center and try some overdrives like the aguilar Agro.

Fuzz vs overdrive vs distortion actually give you quite different sounds, imo. Explore them all

3. King Weapon

King Weapon

Sep 20, 2005
    Brooklyn, NY