1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for an affordable 100-200w all tube head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JohnMorgan, Oct 7, 2013.

1. JohnMorgan

JohnMorgan

Oct 7, 2013
    I started playing last christmas (I played nothing but guitar before then), but I've picked it up very quickly, and I'm looking to switch over to bass for good. I'm currently using a fender rumble 150, but I want to upgrade to something better.

I'm looking for something in between 100 to 200w, thats affordable and sounds good.

Any Ideas?

2. Bassics101

Bassics101

Feb 3, 2011
    Better if you can define affordable, at least in a range. What is to one may not be to another.

3. tbirdsp

tbirdsp

Sep 18, 2012
    Omaha, NE
    Define affordable;)

I recently picked up a used Peavey VB-2 from Guitar Center used online. Hope to gig with it this Saturday.

4. IPYF

IPYF

Mar 31, 2011
    Do you have a solid rationale for going all tube? I'm not trying to deter you but I find that smaller tube amps have limited tone options. They do slightly-broken up and completely broken up exceptionally well but don't really have a lot of clean headroom.

The Ashdown CTM100 is ok, and the Drophead 200 might be an option as well. They sound rocky and good and they don't carry a huge price tag.

I personally wouldn't go full tube unless I was prepared to go the whole hog and get an SVT CL or VR, which may be possible for you if you're in the US. I hear you can get one on the s/h market for about a grand which is about 2000 less than I could get one for here.

5. tbirdsp

tbirdsp

Sep 18, 2012
    Omaha, NE
    An SVT-CL with new tubes and a road case on wheels has been on craigslist here since 8/19 - asking price $1500 USD.

6. Hopkins

Hopkins Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 17, 2010
    Houston Tx