Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for an amp suitable for bass and guitar

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by suicas, Mar 18, 2004.

1. suicas

suicas

Mar 12, 2004
    UK
    I've been playing guitar for a couple of years, and the only amp I've had is a 10W practice amp.

I've recently started playing bass guitar, and really could do with a new amp for it (I have to crank up the 10W more than I'm happy with to get much sound out of my bass, not sure whether this could damage it or not).

I'm hoping to play some small gigs in the not too distant future, so I'd be looking for something in the 50-100W range (I think that's a suitable size, unless anyone wants to correct me..).

Since I also play electric guitar, I'd ideally like to find a nice amp suitable for both instruments, rather than having to get a dedicated one for each.

Do such amps exist? any recommendations?

Dave

2. AMJBASS

AMJBASS Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2002
    Ontario, Canada
    Bass amps are also suitable for guitar, and can give you a really nice tone too. What styles of music are you playing? What is your budget?

3. suicas

suicas

Mar 12, 2004
    UK
    I guess my budget is £250-350ish, so that works out around $450 to $650 or so I think.

As for styles, I usually play rock/electro/industrial type things I'd say. Fairly melodic and slow (and occasionally funky) basslines, I don't often play anything very fast or heavy.

All advice appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Dave

4. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Check out the SWR Strawberry Blonde or the Carvin AG100. These are basically portable PAs that work well with bass guitars. They're really clean and don't overdrive at all; then again, I haven't come across any guitar amp that's reknowned for its overdriven tone that sounds good with a bass.