1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for an inexpensive dual humbucker bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by olds_cool63, Aug 3, 2012.

1. olds_cool63

olds_cool63

Oct 11, 2010
    Hey, y'all.

I'm a long time guitarist who took up bass about a year ago. I have a Silvertone Jazz bass that I've done some mods on and sounds really good.

Now, I'm looking for an inexpensive dual humbucker bass. Moddings my thing, so that's why I want it to be on the inexpensive side. It will never be used for performing, just for learning and laying down tracks.

So, if you have an idea, please share.

Thanks!

Nuff said.

olds_cool63

I FUNK, therefore I am.
    (now can you dig it?)

2. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    Define inexpensive

3. olds_cool63

olds_cool63

Oct 11, 2010
    A couple of hundred bucks or so...

Also, what about a MusicMan type clone? Would removing the pickguard reveal a cavity to add a 2nd pickup? If that's the case, then there are a slew of those out there.

Thanks!

Nuff said.

olds_cool63

I FUNK, therefore I am.
    (now can you dig it?)

4. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    Used G&L L2K Tribute.

As for your MM clone question, it would depend on the clone. I'm not aware of many at all, EB keeps most of the blatant ripoffs in check with their lawyers. A legit EBMM does not have any cavity under the pickguard, just until the control plate.

5. olds_cool63

olds_cool63

Oct 11, 2010
    Thanks for the responses.