1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for Bass Amp - Twin Reverb?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by guitar_player, Jul 16, 2008.

1. guitar_player

guitar_player

Jul 16, 2008
    I'm looking for a cheap way into getting a nice tube amp bass sound. Bass players I listen to a lot and like their sounds (varies a lot and I know a lot is technique), James Jamerson, John Paul Jones, Robert DeLeo.

Anyway I'm kinda looking to do things on the cheap. I have a 74 silverface twin reverb that I could buy a head cabinet for about $200. I have a bandmaster cabinet that has two 12inch celestion G12-80 Classic Lead but their 16 ohms and wired in parallel I only get 8ohms not the required 4. Since I don't have a 4 ohm cab I can't tell how bad this is cutting the power so not sure if it would be a good investment to spend the money on new speakers or just buy a new cab. Plus I almost have the feeling that I would be into a single 15 anyway.

So for the head cab and new speakers it would be about $400-500.

Head cab and a 15 inch cab a little more than that.

I'm playing in a loud rock band and also looking to do some side blues gigs / cover gigs. Also a little worried about the 100 watts. Will this be loud enough? I know a lot of people are using Ampeg V4's but not sure if they are using them in a loud rock situation.

I know this is a lot to ask but maybe it would just be better to buy a combo around that price range? I've hear a lot of people on this forum say they like the Ampeg B200R and that would be around the same price point. I also recently saw a reissue b15 on craigslist for around $800, but also not sure if that 100 watts is loud enough (and I've also hear that they sound nothing like the original but more like a V4)...

I guess my questions boil down to: