1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for effects that make the bass sounds totally different

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Groovesaurus, Jan 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Groovesaurus

Groovesaurus

Jan 31, 2017
    Perth WA
    Hi Talkbassers,

first post here, so sorry in advance for my poor english, and thanks for all the times i've pinched precious information from all you users: knowledge is power, and i'm too lazy and broke to go to a music school, so if i'm a better bassist is mostly thanks to this forum.

here's the matter:
    I'm a busker and my current setup consists of my bass, loopers and electronic drum.
    I'm chasing an effect that would make the bass sound totally different from what it sounds normally, to surprise the random audience that comes and goes.

i've already used a POG2; it's awesome and i can just imagine the possibilities in terms of sounds when matched with other FXs, however i've a bit of an issue with ocd, so when it comes to gear too tweakable i get lost in it and it compromises my practice and working times (i tried to stick only to the presets, but i still found myself changing them every 10 minutes or so).
    i tend to prefer one or two parameters fx.

therefore i stepped down to a micro pog clone (mooer tender octaver, very recommended), glued the sub and dry knob to zero, and rocked on with that so far.

i must admit however that the pure +1 octave up sound isn't the most pleasant sound without the POG2's lpf and attack features, SO...

what would be your suggestions?
    i 've tried delays and reverb, and the result is too muddy unless we go to some real top notch pedals.
    i've used the mooer sweeper, that unfortunately leads me to the same problem i've got with the POG2 (sounds stupid, i know).
    i'm very tempted by bitcrusher sounds, but apart from this, i'm clueless.