1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for recommendations for new head and cabinet around $1000 used

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by red_bassist, Dec 9, 2020.

1. Hey all,
    I'm looking for recommendations for a new head and cabinet. I've been playing bass for three years, and have been using a Peavey Microbass 1x8 combo amp. I want to try a separate head and cabinet. My intended use is for jam sessions and practicing. I'm not currently playing with a group.
    Genre: worship music
    Tone: warm, punchy, growly (I play a fretless P bass)
    Budget: around $1000 or less used for both the head and the cabinet.
    Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
  2. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

Apr 9, 2009
    Only used? For a grand you can score some good new gear.

westrock, red_bassist and SJan3 like this.
  3. New would be fine, preferably used

Timmah and jeff7bass like this.
  4. Personally, I'd look for a used 500w GK head (which is cheaper now that Mesa seems to be favored) and a solid 15" cab. Its do-able for $1k. You're also in the best time of year for deals on used gear (because everyone wants cash for their seasonal must-have gear).

5. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

Apr 9, 2009
  6. And I

And I Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2009
    Witchtown, MA
    You can find a GK MB500 head and NEO 112 can used for under a grand. I played through this rig for many years. Definitely warm and punchy, and of course GK is famous for growl...

7. I like the samples I have heard so far of the GK MB500 head

Dubious Aa likes this.
  8. 39-Bassist

39-Bassist

Jul 7, 2010
    Florida
    Endorsing Artist for: Brace Audio; Duncan Pickups; Line6, Hipshot, GHS Strings, Somnium Guitars
    I would like to say look for a Fender Bassman 500 and either the 410 cab or the 210 combo w/extended 210 cab...

9. groove pump

groove pump

Oct 24, 2006