1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for some guidance please...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by McThud, Jul 31, 2017.

1. McThud

McThud Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2013
    Arlington, VA
    Fellow TB-ers:

I've been in the market for a short scale, semi or full hollow body bass, and I've since become fascinated with all these manufacturers from the 60s who built their own versions of violin style and other similar basses with really cool designs that seem as if they'd fit the bill - many seemingly ridiculously affordable.

However, I know very little about which would be better to consider, and others that I should avoid. I'm a full time gigging bassist, so it will get its share of stage and studio time. Examples of some brands I've seen are Vox, Univox, Eko, Sekova, Teisco (and Teisco Del Rey - is this different?), Harmony, Greco, etc.

I'd appreciate any ideas or direction anyone might offer about how to begin looking or narrow down my search. Thanks in advance for your help!

EDIT: I realized that I never gave any budget or other parameters: Ideally, as this would be an addition that would be played, but perhaps not as often, I'd like to keep this to under $800 USD. And while I'd love a German-made Hofner Club, new or used, that ain't gonna happen. Plus I like some of the quirkiness of the designs from the less popular builders. I hope this helps responses!

Last edited: Jul 31, 2017
    ThePresident777 and Stumbo like this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
  3. fermata

fermata

Nov 10, 2015