1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for the funk

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by juhani, Apr 24, 2006.

1. juhani

juhani

Apr 23, 2006
    Hi,

I'm quite new in the bass world so i need some advice as i'm having myself a bass built. And i need some suggestions regarding pickups. I've been reading your old posts about them and learned quite a lot but i still wanted to ask over to clarify some things.

So i need pickups. Most of the time i play funk. Pretty much all sorts of funk, mixed with jazz, hip hop, reggae, metal, rock etc. So I want pickups that give me the traditional James Brown thing but also more modern stuff like Dirk Lance on SCIENCE by Incubus and that huge slap sound Fieldy's famous for or if you're ever heared "The John Scofield Band" :cool: then that's another bass sound i'm really after.

Right now i've considered EMG pickups. What do you think if i put 40DC to neck (although some people have told me to put it to bridge position) and 40TW to bridge. Would that combination give me the sonic range i'm looking for? Or have you got any other ideas? The bass itself becomes 5 string, neck-through, will have mahagon sides and wenge neck with ebony fingerboard.

Thanks in advance,
    j.

2. DavidRavenMoon

DavidRavenMoon Banned

Oct 20, 2004
    If you are playing funk, and want to use EMG's, I'd put a 40P5 in the neck position. it's a P style on the inside, but wired in parallel. It's one of my favorite slap sounds. Nice and hollow, with warm bottom and crisp top end. Very old school.