Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking for the "THE" bass for me..holy grail if you will.. help me decide :)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fourstringdrums, Aug 27, 2003.

1. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    Ni!

Ok, I've been playing for about 2 years, and I've decided that after all that time, I want to finally find "THE" bass for me. Ya know, one bass that I could just hold on to forever. One that I can't help but want to play it. One that just fuels whatever creativity is inside of me. One that, if I never got ANOTHER bass ever again, as long as I lived, and only had this one, that I would be ok with that (I know thats a hard thought for some people on here to imagine..) :)

Anyway, I thought about it, and I think I'd be willing to spend up to like $2500. It would be tough to do, but worth it in the end :) I was considering a few things:

1) Having Jack Read custom build me a bass. He's only like 40 minutes from me and I've always loved his work. But I can't decide on what to even design. I know he'll help, but I wanted some 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc.. opinions. I play alot of groove/funk oriented stuff, as well as melodic, chord bassed music. But I also love Motown, Jaco, Geddy, Sting.. I'm experimenting in slap, tap etc.. Bassically to sum it up.. I'm looking for something very versatile, but at the same time might offer a distinct tone. Any ideas on what body/neck/fingerboard woods I could consider?