1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for work in a Studio.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by jimmyjames77, Oct 4, 2010.

1. jimmyjames77

jimmyjames77 Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2005
    Just West of Chicago
    Hey peoples. I'm in Chicago and looking for work in a recording studio, paid or unpaid. Does any one have any advice or know of any studios that need help?
    Also I'm trying to compile a list of all the Legit studios in Chicago, rock preferably. Can anyone give me a few names?
    I have many years of experience in the studio mixing, editing, and recording. I'm also a musician.:bassist:
    Thanks,
    Jim.

2. Samsound

Samsound

Sep 28, 2010
    Why would you want unpaid work?

3. jimmyjames77

Apr 17, 2005
    Just West of Chicago
    Mostly to learn, but also to gain a reputation and credentials so that I can eventually be on my own. Of course paid is best though.

4. kalle74

kalle74

Aug 27, 2004
    I´ll pass on the advice I was given when in the same situation... Basically you have 2 choices:

1. Make recordings with friends and people you know, and slowly build up your rep. Start a studio (small one will do at first) and gather experience. Prepare to work for little to no money. Hope that somebody you´ve recorded makes it big time... Learn to say "no" (every once in a while somebody proposes a bad deal. You don´t have to succumb to everything.).

This is how i did it. Recorded friends and occasional strangers. My studio has since evolved from very small to quite big, during the 10 years... The business is OK at the moment.

2. Ask around at professional studios. Prepare to make lots of coffee, and develop good cleaning skills. Hope that somebody recognizes you, and offers you a task at a session.

I skipped this, because I realised that *I* COULDN´T MAKE IT HAPPEN. It´s all up to luck and other people.