Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Looking to "assemble" a bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by NoNoise, Apr 6, 2005.

1. NoNoise

NoNoise Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2005
    New Jersey
    I'm not going to ask a bunch of noob questions or anything, but depending on if I'm able to buy a bass I'm looking into (if I do buy it, then this project is pushed back), I'm going to be assembling a bass. I say "assembling," because I'm going to buy the body, neck, and all the hardware and then just put it together. I'm not very experienced, so I would like to find someone that can paint the body and set the neck and bridge up.

So, my first question is: what is a fair price to ask someone to paint the body and to get everything the way it should be with the neck and bridge? My second question is: Is there anyone within 100 miles or so of New Brunswick, NJ with some experience that would like to take on this job? I'm not looking to spend a vast fortune, so I was planning on buying a jazz body from warmoth (or like place), a moses graphite neck, and gather up the rest of the pieces. So, unless the person I hire has a body for a comparable price, I would supply the body.

I want the body to be white (more off-white, not "blind my eyes" white), but the trick is that I want the part of the body around the pickups, under the strings and a little further out to be like a transparent white. So, to try to clarify, it would almost be like a "white-burst" from a transparent white to a solid white only the transparent white would be an oval just around where the pickups are between the neck and bridge. Does this make sense? Thanks for all your help and I apologize for the long post. :smug:

2. Jim Ingraham

Jim Ingraham

Nov 14, 2002
    Shillington