1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking to buy a new bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pete528, Aug 14, 2007.

1. Pete528

Pete528

Aug 13, 2007
    I'm a new bassist, and although I've had a bass for some years, I've just been fooling around all those times and now I want to get serious.

I often have chances to play in shows... I'm not a very good player at all but I can do what is required to play most modern, popular songs now.

Right now I play a very horrible Fender Squier. I am looking for something good, yet affordable to play if I am ever in a show or playing for a public event. The Squier is nice if you are just playing around but when you are say, playing for a wedding, then you want something that sounds a bit better.

Also keep in mind that I'm 16 and my job only pulls in like 50 bucks a week, so that 2,000 dollar guitar is out of the question :crying:

thank you very much for the help! everyone on this site has been great in giving some expert advice

2. Squier Vintage Modified series are very good, definitely a step up from a normal Squier. I have 2 and I'm seriously thinking about adding a third (the fretless Jazz Bass)

3. Double Agent

Double Agent Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL
    Squier Vintage Modified P bass.

4. dave64o

dave64o Talkbass Top 10 all time lowest talent/gear ratio! Gold Supporting Member

Jun 15, 2000
    Southern NJ
    I understand $2000 would be out of the question, but maybe a better estimate of your budget would help get suggestions you can really use. There are lots decent choices in the lower price ranges, but if you can't go above $300 there's no sense giving you a $500 choice.