1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking to get into Jazz music (any kind)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by upsidedowner, Jun 6, 2018.

1. upsidedowner

upsidedowner

Dec 12, 2016
    Hey all.

I'm a self taught bass guitarist, who plays lots of classic rock, funk, alternative etc. However, I'm looking to get into jazz music. Easier stuff at first, if I can, that I can still learn by ear.

-I'd like to play stuff that is in less common keys.
    -I'd like to play stuff that can further aquaint me with different time signatures.
    -And I'd like the play stuff that may give me a good crash course in playing "outside the scale."

Can fit one, all, or none of those criteria; if you feel it will develop my ear for jazz, I want to hear it!

Any recommendations?
    Thanks.

2. ba55i5t

ba55i5t

May 24, 2006
    There are lots of answers to this question, and they will put you all in different directions.

I think the best place to start would be Miles Davis - Kind of Blue. If you want hotter jazz, check out Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie. If you want cool jazz, check out Bill Evans, Gerry Mulligan, Lester Young. If you want something "different" check out Ornette Coleman, Thelonious Monk.

The other issue is that players change their style over time as well (Miles being the prime example). So take my approximations above as that, a generalization by someone who is just getting into jazz.

upsidedowner likes this.
  3. Bioflava

Bioflava

Feb 14, 2016
    Grab a Smithsonian box set; I've got a few of these on vinyl and they have taught me a lot!

Highly recommend this for getting a birds-eye view -- then dive in and find a record by someone you like and trace the sideman. So, for instance, Jimmy Cobb played on Miles' Kinda Blue, and he's also played on scores of other amazing albums that are worth a listen. Enjoy!