1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking to upgrade in the NYC area..

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by ChopsMcGee, Oct 22, 2010.

1. ChopsMcGee

ChopsMcGee

Jul 5, 2005
    Miami, FL
    Chiming in to get some opinions about buying a bass in NYC.
    I've been playing upright bass for about 6 years now, and recently graduated with a degree in jazz studies on upright. I'll be in the city from 10/28 to 11/3, and have some appointments set up at the Gage and Kolstein shops. I've been stuggling with the playability, action and string tension on my current bass for a while now, and am looking to move on up in the world. I'm not particular about wanting to sound like (insert famous bass player here), I just want something that is comfortable to play, and speaks to me. With that said, my main influences (for the time being) are Scott LaFaro, John Pattituci, Christian McBride, Ray Brown and Ron Carter.

I'm setting my limit at $6500 for a bass, but certainly wouldnt be opposed to spending less on something that sounds good. I have no aspirations of becoming a famous bassist, I just wanna swing. If anyone has any suggestions as to where else I could go, or if you have an instrument for sale that I could try out, I'm all ears. This will be my first instrument out of the student model range, so any help would be much appreciated.

2. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2007
    NYC, Inwood.
    Between Gage, Kolstein, and your budget, you should be able to do pretty well.

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.