1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking to upgrade my TH500 for something more powerful. Ag700? Suggestions please!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MAFbass1992, Nov 24, 2017.

1. MAFbass1992

MAFbass1992 Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2012
    Montreal
    Hey there,

I've been using my trusty Aguilar TH500 for a couple of years now and I always loved it. Recently I've been doing a lot more gigs with two Bergantino 1x12 cabs and even with the master volume on the Th500 at around 1 I get a lot of that ''red clipping light'' when I dig in and play harder. I know the debate about that red light and I know it doesn't break the amp but I wonder if I should get something more powerful... I don't mind sometimes the head having a dirtier sound from the clipping but most of my overdriven sound are on my pedalboard anyway...

I also spotted a nice AG700 head on the classified and I wonder if a 200w jump would make a big difference or if I should just keep the TH500 or buy something else, like the Demeter VTB-800D tube head. I'd like to get a head with a warmer sound, so a tube head or a good class D like the TH500 that was more inclined to that sound

I'd really like to get a used AG700 but I know it has a cleaner sound. Simply wondering if I can get other warmer sounds too... since I play lots of styles (top 40, rock (not too trashy) , folk, indie etc.)

Anyway, starting to consider all my options... thanks!

2. StayLow

StayLow

Mar 14, 2008
    All else equal, you need double the watts to get a noticeable increase in volume (3dB). My own real-world experience is that I have some amps that come in both 500w and 800w versions and there's no appreciable difference.