Looking to upgrade...Stingray 5?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sleestak, Nov 3, 2003.

1. Hey everyone,

I’ve been playing bass since 1983 when I bought my used Fender Bullet Bass Deluxe and never owner another bass in all that time. I’ve been out of the loop for a while, my last band dissolved about 7 or 8 years ago, been playing for fun in the meantime.

Well I’ve decided it’s time to upgrade, so I’ve been trying to play as many basses as possible to get a feel for which manufacturer and which bass is going to end up coming home with me.

One bass I keep gravitating back to at the music store is the Stingray 5. Having never owned anything other than a 4 string, I love the versatility the extra string brings to the table, and I love the look and feel of the SR5.

A couple things I can’t seem to find answers to:

What exactly is the Piezo option? It sounds like it’s some sort of active pickup option?

I love so many of the color combos, I’m wondering how difficult it is to swap out the pick guard with a different one. Also, what do the pick guards cost?

Since I’m so picky about colors, how tough is it to find the exact color combo you want? My local guitar center had exactly one of the SR5’s in stock, so I’ve only seen like one or two in person.

One last thing, what is the main difference (besides color) on the maple and rosewood necks?

I play all types of music, from heavy stuff to surf music and everything in between. Looking for a solid bass that has a good tonal range and has a nice feel to it.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. Scott D

Scott D

Apr 21, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN