1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Loose feeling, big gauge, fat sound

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by mrmarbles, May 7, 2015.

1. mrmarbles

mrmarbles

May 6, 2015
    Washington DC
    I'm an orchestral and solo musician and made the switch from rope core steel strings to wound gut five years ago and have not looked back..until now.s My only issues are (a) the cost for buying quality gut, (b) eudoxa and oliv have been plagued with quality control issues...To expand on this comment, despite having very clean and properly dressed nuts, fingerboard and bridge slots, after time Eudoxa and Oliv will always start to unwind or develop bumps/burrs over the string due to changes in humidity...

My current set up:
    G: Oliv
    D: Eudoxa
    A: Eudoxa
    E: Eudoxa

I like the feeling of "pulling" sound out of the instrument with the bow and wound gut produces the largest amount of depth. I usually play in a classical orchestra where I am the only bassist so having a big gut sound really brings character out of my bass. Think old-school bowed sounds like Jeremy McCoy or Johannes Stahle.

What I am looking for: LOW tension under the left hand (lower than Eudoxa) but without the winding problems. I am not entirely opposed to moving to a synthetic string but have never been very impressed. Oddly, I remember maybe 5 years ago trying some dominant solo strings tuned down to orchestral pitch and liked how much breadth of sound there was and how loose they felt under the left hand.

I recently experimented with Velvet Compass 180 and found that the bottom two strings have no real depth to them, and Evah seemed to choke the sound on my bass...My bass does not respond well to very high tension strings.