Loosened strings, now everything is whack

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Stock R, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Stock R

Stock R n00b

Dec 5, 2005
    Help please.

I just started playing bass about a month ago, and before I left the guitar to go home for 2 weeks, it occured to me for some reason to loosen the strings a bit. I gave each of the strings probably about 2 rotations just to ease the tension a bit.

I got back the other day and tried tightening them back up, but now the entire setup seems to be off. The strings are either awfully loose (if tuned) or the strings touch the top 4+ frets.

What should I do? This is on a SX P bass btw.

Also, are my strings suppose to be centered between the dots on the pickupts? Some of them are off, I think the things that guide the strings have shifted on the bridge.

2. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    Take the guitar to a reputable tech and him set it up. The neck most likely straightened out because there was not enough tension on it for a lengthy period of time. All that would take is just a routine truss rod adjustment, but you don't sound like you've done setups before so you should really have a tech look at it.

Why did you loosen the strings? Even if you're not going to play the guitar for a few months you never have to loosen the strings. No harm will come to the bass by it being at full tension. Harm will come if you loosen the strings and don't put some relief in the neck to compensate.