1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Loosening truss rod... neck still has backbow?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by jenderfazz, May 6, 2006.

1. I've been loosening the truss rod on my new 72 P since last night. Gave it a little more than a quarter turn yesterday, and another quarter turn or so this afternoon. I'm not a beginner when it comes to truss rod adjustments.

However, as much as I loosen it, the neck still has a slight bit of backbow (I like digging in and my strings buzz a bit near the first position). I turned it another half turn, counter clockwise as always, and am not seeing a difference. Any help?

2. pickles

pickles Gold Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    I have seen examples where people use heat and clamps to try to chance the natural relief of a neck -- but there is an easy solution you might want to try: heavier strings. Especially since you say you like to dig in ... the higher tension will bring the relief up, and the strings will offer more resistance as well.

3. pkr2

pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    You may want to try tuning it about one note above standard and letting it set for a few hours. the extra tension may be enough to pull additional relief into the neck. Be sure to loosen the truss rod almost completely.

Be sure to tune it evenly across the strings to avoid introducing any twist in the neck.

Check the tuning very critically with a tuner when you get it over tuned and then check it occasionally to see if the tuning is dropping. A gradual drop in tuning is an indication that relief is actually increasing as it sets.

You can give a stubborn neck a little assistance by leaning the bass in a corner at about a 30 degree angle with the top of the bass facing outward.