1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lost space in my HDD need help

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by vene-nemesis, Sep 5, 2008.

1. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    I dowloaded this huge file 3.50GB in my main partition then transfered it to my storage partition (using move here thingy) and never got those 3.50 gb back

the thing is that there isnt any big files in my C:\ partition and got very little space to dowload other huge archives i need.

Any idea on how to get the space back other than formating?

2. L-A

L-A

Jul 17, 2008
    Eh?
    empty your recycle bin?

3. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    Done.

This is not im a pc noob thread i in fact have deleted this file from my C partition but the space it ocupied seems to be used even if have no major files in this partition other than windows itself.

4. L-A

L-A

Jul 17, 2008
    Eh?
    Do you have any other OS that could have interacted with it, and left a temporary (hidden) system file there?

Or maybe a temp folder for some software you used the archive with?

Sequoia could spot it easily, as Mingus proposed.

5. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    Yes ive used sequoia and spoted a 3.39 GB mounted image, the thing is that the image itself is held in the D partition so when i unmount it it changes nothing, the rest are insignificant archives.

6. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    is c:\pagefile.sys important?

7. I'm going with Yes.

8. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    Pagefile.sys is Windows' virtual memory file. Paging (=swapping memory contents out to the HDD) can be disabled, but unless your system has a lot of RAM you'll find Windows beginning to struggle.