1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Lots of gear, many questions...

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by xI Jonathan Ix, Jan 8, 2020.

1. xI Jonathan Ix

xI Jonathan Ix

Jan 8, 2020
    Florida
    8E230367-F286-4EE2-93BA-032C39366887.jpeg Hi, I’m new here, first post. I have some decent knowledge, always seeking more though. First I’ll give you the facts, then ask the questions and if anyone is willing to chime in, great!

Things I can’t currently change or can’t live without:

Active (18v) 2006 Fender Precision Deluxe 4-string
    SWR Working Pro 700 head
    SWR Son of Bertha 1x15
    SWR Goliath Junior III 2x10
    Boss ODB-3 Bass Overdrive
    Boss OC-3 Super Octave
    EHX Bass Mono Synth

Things that could be swapped around/removed/added if needed:

Ampeg SCR-DI preamp/DI pedal
    Dbx 166xl Compressor/Limiter/Noise gate
    BBE Sonic Maximizer 882i

Sennheiser wireless kit (can’t tell you model at the moment cause I’m not at home with it.)

Main question: I like the sound of the Ampeg preamp as first in chain after the wireless but I would like the house to get the effected sounds (Boss OD, Octave, & Synth) which are on my pedalboard. My idea for chain is Bass > Wireless > Compressor > Ampeg > Synth > Octave > OD > Amp’s Effects Return. What problems are there with this? Where/when/would a buffer pedal be needed if I have 2 25 foot cords going to and from the pedalboard?

This leaves the Ampeg’s DI cleanest for FOH and I could use the SWR’s unbalaced line out to a Radial JDI for effected signal to the house. Also would get rid of the BBE which I feel is preamp overkill with the active bass, compressor, and ampeg pre which all add to the overall output signal. (P.S. I only use the SWR footswitch for mute while tuning)

I welcome your input and thanks for having me here at TalkBass.

- Jonathan

Stumbo likes this.
  2. Dump the BBE