LOUD acoustic basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by clef360, Nov 4, 2003.

1. Since I was a guitar player before I was a bassist, I always check out the acoustic guitars in any music store I go to, and there's usually one or two acoustic basses, but they always sound so small i can barely hear myself play even by myself in an enclosed room. Are there acoustic bass guitars that can actually project?
  2. Kicklow

Jun 28, 2003
    Charlotte, NC
    Check out a Tacoma. I tried every ABG I could find before buying a CB10C. It's not only the loudest one out there, but has great tone too.
  3. Think about how big a double bass has to be to project. There's the problem! :(
  4. Guild B4CE is very loud, without amplification.

BTW, if you do a search, you'll find this topic has been discussed before!

5. did a search for "acoustic". didnt find anything useful. that's the broadest term i can think of. I mean, if they're talking about "acoustic basses" it's gotta have the word "acoustic in it, right?:D
  6. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
  7. Cathead

Dec 13, 2002
    Premier, WV
    I agree with kicklow. The Tacoma is awesome. I recently played an informal "gig" where we all sat in a circle...2 acoustic dreadnought guitars, a banjo,a mandolin, and me on the Tacoma. We were all unplugged and the Tacoma cut right through the crowd. Everybody was amazed and commented on how good the bass sounded.
  8. Try jacking the action on the Tacoma up about 1/4" inch off the board at the 12th fret. A simple tweak of the truss rod should accomplish the job.
    I recently played a Tacoma with high action. It howled!
  9. bwbass

May 6, 2002