Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Love my new warwick but ...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rbud2003, Mar 13, 2003.

1. rbud2003

rbud2003

Feb 21, 2003
    I've recently got back into playing bass after being away from it for 8 years. During that time I picked up a Fender American Jazz but then stopped shortly after buying it.

When I started playing again, I wanted to try something new and went to Guitar Center and played and bought a Warwick Corvette Standard. Before this I had never heard of Warwick. Since then, I have found this site (awesome!) and others where I have read opinions for and against Warwicks.

Here's the problem, I love the sound of the Warwick but it just isn't comfortable to play as my Jazz. I have about a week left before I can take it back to GC for a refund.

Am I crazy? Is there something that could give me the sound of the warwick but not as heavy? Should I stick with the Jazz? The style I'm into now is Blues, Classic Rock, some more modern Rock.

I know opinions vary but I'd like to here from others in this forum.

2. Hmm...you could try to see if they have a Corvette Proline...

Barring that, I think a Corvette Standard's tone is gonna be difficult to duplicate on any other bass without extremely heavy EQing, due to the distinct resonances of the exotic woods used in its construction.

3. jasonbraatz

jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    un/fortunately, there isn't much that sounds like a warwick but a warwick.

maybe put some EMG's in your jazz to add some of the warwick extra-crispy flavor to it? but you definitely shouldn't keep a bass you're not totally happy with.

as for lighter warwicks, the new set neck warwicks are chambered, but those will most likely be out of your price range.

4. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA