1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Low action possible with #6 neck?

Discussion in 'G&L Bass Forum' started by Nedmundo, May 7, 2006.

1. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005
    Philadelphia
    I've described setup issues with my new bass in my "L-1500 arrives" thread, and even though the action is minimally higher than on my Fenders it feels like a big difference. I studied Fender's setup guide, which recommends slightly higher action for basses with 7.5" fretboard radii like my #6 neck. I then noticed that my DiPinto Belvedere has the lowest action of all my basses -- with nearly zero buzzing -- and it appears to have the flattest radius. (It probably helps that I get it set up at Chris DiPinto's shop. :D )

So I'm developing buyer's remorse about the #6 neck, thinking I should have gone with the #8 and its 12" radius, which probably allows lower action. I doubt my dealer will allow an exchange on a special order, or that G&L would allow a neck swap so I could get a #8. (But I may inquire about both.)

Thus the question: Are there any special tricks to getting low action on the #6 neck? I think the real problem is lack of fretboard "fall-away" at the high frets, which my Fender necks seem to have. This makes me think a dressing of the upper octave frets might be required. I've read that some players routinely spend $150 for a thorough makeover of new basses including fret work, and maybe this is why.

2. flash99

flash99

Jun 8, 2005
    New York City