Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Low-cost bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Thanos, Apr 5, 2003.

1. Thanos

Thanos

Apr 1, 2003
    St. Louis
    I'm looking at getting a new 4-string to go with my 5. I don't need to spend $1000+ even though I probably could in another month. I'm not a pro who makes his living with his insrument, just a local musician. For that reason I can't justify dropping a big load of cash (even though there's a G&L at one of the music stores here that almost seems to call my name...;) ). Anyway, here's a list of basses that fall into what I want to spend, about $500.

Fender MIM J
    Fender MIM P
    Ibanez SR400
    Ibanez SRX500
    Epiphone Thunderbird
    Yamaha BB604

I've yet to find a Thunderbird or BB604 at a music store to play firsthand. I like the feel of the Ibanez 400, and I still kick myself for selling my Fender MIM P, but what can I say-I needed a new car. :bawl:

The $500 number is a bit of a glass celing, should I find something sweet enough. If anyone could make suggestions that fall into this price range, and give a link to where to find it if it's not on something like AMS or Music 123, I'd be eternally happy.
    :bassist:

2. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    Out of that list I would opt for either the MIM P or MIM J. The Yamaha is also nice. I haven't played an Ibanez or an Epiphone so can't comment on those.

Based on your comments I would say you should a/b the Ibanez and the MIM P and let your ears and hands tell you what you need to know. Once you decide you will have to post pics of course ;)

Dan

3. BoiNtC

BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    for 500$ you could probably get a nice MIJ Fender, I feel these have better sound than the MIMs

4. Thanos

Thanos

Apr 1, 2003
    St. Louis