Low tuning, high volume, stoner sludge death metal tone help and tips please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Electric Wisdom, Jan 27, 2018.

1. Electric Wisdom

Electric Wisdom

Jan 27, 2018
    Montreal
    Hi everyone, ok i'm new here but i've been playing bass warwick for 8-10 years.
    Basicly i'm joining a band where it need to be loud like every metal band haha... but i'd like to be clear and punchy, i have a great setup at home and feel like all sub 1500$ cabs are poopie.
    I want that 5 string bass tuned in AEADG to sound good and feel like the speaker dont rush at all even if i'm relatively loud. I saw this video too and i got in love but 2 amps is kinda pricey...

So at this point i have no amp and no cab, i used to play all the time in my nice home studio with jbl monitors. I have a sunn T50C combo and i'm fan for this type of music: stoner sludge, death metal, black metal, anyways...

Edit: I don't want to use my sunn amp for bass because it's in my studio and it's heavy and precious, jam space for bass rig is another thing.

My main questions here are about what should i do... I mean i chould buy a cab but it's 2000$ or more + the amp... I'm relatively good with wood and i see that speakers and accesories are not that expensive... I'm open to learn about how to do it. I'd like your thoughts on what setup i could use. I really like the tone of that OB1. Also ampeg but i like more the OB1 tone...
    And also what kind on cab setup i should get with it? Maybe i could make one 2x15 8 ohm cab and one 2x12 + 2x10 in one 8 ohm cab into that OB1? That would make it 4 ohm in parallel thus having the full power of that 500w ob1 head right?

I'll have to check what wattage each speaker, i see some at 300w rms each 10, 12 and 15 inch, i think he uses eminence delta series.

Seriously any input is appreciated, i want ideas for a loud rig that doesnt get hurt when tuned low bass guitar.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2018