Lowering action...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by meltsakana, Dec 5, 2002.

1. meltsakana

Sep 3, 2002
    Please don't respond by telling me to search for similar threads. This is a little different.

I went to guitar center to try out some basses, and with all of them, even after adjustment by the staff, had too high action for me. One bass i really liked (Ibanez SR800) was near perfect for my tastes, but the action was a bit too high. The worker said lowering it further would degrade sound quality (fretbuzz)... All the fenders I tried were kinda the same...

How low can you go? On a fender? On an ibanez? out of all basses you've played? How much of the sound depends on proper truss rod adjustment? I have tendonitis and am looking for really ease to play basses...any suggestions? Could strings have something to do with this? Help me out!
  2. Stu L.

Stu L. Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2001
    Corsicana, Texas
    I'm no expert, but most will agree action is a personal preference. Take it as low as you like, and if it buzzes, raise it some.

As far as the tendonitis, I would reccomend the Planet Waves Gripmaster. Its a little hand exerciser that I find helps the blood flow and gets the hands working easier. It also helped me play faster, as my fingers were stronger. Works good for arthritis too...
  3. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Maybe your tastes are just too particular. ;)

You can go lower on a fretless. Try one of those.